Food and Drink

Orange Ginger Salmon


Asking The Man what he wants for dinner has got to be one of the stupidest questions I ask. He usually answers that he really doesn’t care. I make whatever I want and everyone is happy with whatever it is that I make.  However, every once in a while, he’ll ask for fish. Sigh/eye roll/whatever….Did I do that out loud?? Yes and he saw/heard me. Oops. Why did you ask me?  Umm, because that’s what wives do. We ask, you say you don’t care, we cook what we want and all is well in married land.

Anyway, back to the fish. Now don’t get me wrong. I like fishing and I like eating fish. Cooking it?  Not so much. I haven’t quite gotten the hang of cooking fish. I always over cook it and it’s gets all rubbery. Gross!

Alright, we’ll have fish. Salmon, to be exact. My least favorite fish. What seasonings cover the taste of salmon???  Then the idea pops into my head. Orange and ginger!! Yes!!

I have an orange tree that produces the best oranges. They are sweet, juicy, and the skin is filled with orange oil. Oh, and so fragrant!!!  Orange and ginger have been kicking around in my head for some time now and this was the perfect opportunity to try it out.

I really surprised myself!  I actually cooked a tender filet. It had a bit of an Asian flare, sans the soy sauce.  The marinade was one the sweet side. When the fish was done marinating, I reduced that beautiful liquid into a glaze. It was incredibly flavorful!  I’m thinking it would be good on shrimp or chicken too.

Now please bare in mind, this is somewhat of an eyeball recipe.

Here’s what you’ll need.

Four or five oranges, onion, garlic, ginger, honey, Sriracha, salt, pepper, and two pounds salmon fillets.

Mix honey, Sriracha, salt and pepper. Set aside.


Finely zest your oranges, finely grate about two inches of ginger, grate half an onion and press 3-5 cloves of garlic.  Add to honey mixture.


Juice your oranges. Add to honey mixture. Preheat oven to 350.


Put salmon in 9×13 baking dish.


Pour half the marinade on fish. Make sure all fish is coated.  I marinated skin side up. Let sit for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, put the rest of marinade in sauce pan. On medium heat,  reduce by half.


Place fish on parchment lined baking sheet. Brush with a generous amount of glaze. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Pour the rest of the glaze over the fish and bake 10-15 minutes more or until done.


There you have it!!  This turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this again!

Thank you for following me. Please comment. Share your ideas with me. After all, I’m here to learn too.

Theresa

2 thoughts on “Orange Ginger Salmon

Leave a Reply

