Food and Drink

Quick and Easy Layered Enchiladas 

This is one of my family’s favorite meals! There are never leftover enchiladas!! Remember the post about the bone broth? I usually get three meals out of the chicken meat. These layered enchiladas are one of those meals. The prep time is under 30 minutes and the cook time is under 30 minutes. While they are in the oven, you can throw together a green salad and you have a full meal in under an hour.  This is also a great pot luck dish.

Let’s get started.  I use canned enchilada sauce. My grandmother showed once how to make the homemade sauce. It was quite the process. Not difficult. Just a few too many steps for this busy girl!! So I stick to the canned sauce.  Now, about that canned sauce…..Tomatoes are not an ingredient in red chili sauce. Red chili sauce is simply dried New Mexico chilies, softened in simmering water, puréed with a few spices and some of the water the chilies were softened in. Simple. The tortillas should be corn. Not flour. In my opinion, anything in a flour tortilla, is a freaking burrito!!  Flour tortillas just get soggy, gummy and glue like. Corn tortillas, on the other hand, pull their weight, they compliment the chili sauce, and when baking the edges get crisply and nutty.


You will need: 1 large can of enchilada sauce.  1 package of corn tortillas, I get the 30 pack. ( you probably won’t use all 30 tortillas) 1 onion, chopped and sautéed. 2 cups shredded chicken, 3 cups grated cheese. I use cheddar, but you could use Jack cheese, Colby, the Mexican cheese or a combination there of.  4 green onions sliced.


Chop your onion and sauté till translucent. Just so you know. I don’t sauté my onions. I like the onions a bit crunchy. It compliments the red sauce, but you do what you like.


Grate your cheese. Set aside.


Slice your green onions. Set aside.


Shake that can of enchilada sauce. Pour about a 1/2 a cup into the bottom of your baking dish. Make sure the bottom is covered.


Layer your tortillas. Make sure the come up the sides of your baking dish.


Pour a 1/2 cup of sauce over tortillas. Make sure the tortillas are covered.


Add the chicken layer and about a 1/4 cup of sauce.


Layer onions and half of the cheese, about 1 1/2 cups.


Layer enough tortillas to cover the top.


Add the remaining sauce and spread it out to cover.


Layer the remaining cheese and the sliced green onions.  Bake in a 375 oven for 20-30 minutes.


Remove from oven and let sit for 5-10 minutes.


Serve and enjoy. If you like. You can top with a bit of sour cream.

Please let me know if you make this and how you liked it. Also, if you liked this post. Please follow me, share to FB, pin it, and like my FB page.

Happy Eating

PS. Remember to come back for my first guest post with my friend Christine. She’s a quilter and is quite talented! 

This is Christine. She can up with a super cute tutorial for some Halloween themed mug rugs. You’re going to love it!!

Till next time.

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Layered Enchiladas 

  1. These look so amazing! I haven’t layered as many tortillas as you have here, and I think that’s probably why my enchiladas don’t seem as substantive. I will definitely be making these using your method! Also, I burst into laughter at the flour tortillas being gummy and glue-like. That is so true! I only used flour tortillas in enchiladas once… and that was the last time because they did turn into a gummy mess! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!! Plenty of tortillas is the key here!! I’ve tried them with less also. It just didn’t work. Plus this is usually something the whole family can enjoy and it versatile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

