Food and Drink

Easy Stewed Beef Over Mashed Potatoes 


I have been on vacation for three days!! I get to wear regular cloths and they fit!!  I tried them all on, this past Monday, my first vacation day. It was actually a weird day. Usually The Man and I run errands on my days off. We didn’t. We stayed home and cleaned house, because my mom was flying out from Colorado that night. Into Oakland. At midnight. UGH!  Who the hell wants to go to Oakland in the middle of the night?!  Nobody!! But I digress. Anyway, we cleaned house washed clothes,  folded clothes, and so forth…and so on….

I thought that house cleaning crap would take me all the way to 10pm. Not so much. By 5pm, I was done!!  The house wasn’t done, but I’d had my fill of this cleaning foolishness!!  Hello!! Vacation!!!  I want to do stuff I want to do!!  Like eat!!  I like to eat!!  Which means I had to cook. So much for the clean kitchen…….

Here’s what you’ll need


About a pound and a half to two pounds of stewing beef. One quart of beef broth. One cup of dry red wine. Four carrots. 3-4 stalks of celery. One onion. Four cloves of garlic. Two tablespoons of tomato paste. A few splashes of Worcestershire sauce. Sea salt. Ground pepper. Olive oil.

Cute the beef into one inch cubes.


Add olive oil into a Dutch oven. Heat on medium.


Add half of the beef.  Salt and pepper.


If you add all the beef, it will steam instead of brown. Do two batches. It really doesn’t take long.

While the beef is browning, prepare your vegetables.  (Remember to use a different cutting board)

Peel and slice your carrots into coins.


Dice your onion.


Have you checked your beef?  If it looks like this., with a slotted spoon, remove it from pot into a bowl. Add second batch of beef to pot and brown.  Remember to add salt and pepper.


Slice celery


Press garlic


When second batch of beef is done, remove to bowl. Add a bit more olive oil to pan. Add carrots.  Season lightly with salt and pepper. Sauté five minutes.


Add onion, celery, and garlic.


Sauté 7-10 minutes.


Add beef


Add tomato paste and Worcestershire


Store it up. Add wine.


Stir it up. Add broth.


Taste. If it needs seasoning. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Bring to simmer. Cover and simmer till beef is tender.


Make your mashed potatoes.


Simmer about two pounds of Yukon gold potatoes. Till fork tender. Drain.  Put potatoes in bowl. Add salt and pepper. Start mashing.


Add butter. I used a whole stick. Mash some more.


Add one cup cream, half and half or whole milk. Mash


If you need more liquid, add more cream, half and half or whole milk till your potatoes are to your desired consistency.


Your stew should be getting good and tender about now. You go and taste it. I’ll wait……………..Done?  Good!!! This is how I serve it.


Doesn’t that look good?? It was!!!

Remember, you can add more vegetables or add some fresh chopped herbs, like rosemary, thyme and a whole bay leaf. Make it your own.

Thank you for reading along. If you enjoyed, and I hope you did, please like and share!!  See you next time.

Theresa

John 10:10-11

2 thoughts on “Easy Stewed Beef Over Mashed Potatoes 

Leave a Reply

